September 25, 2012

Bare Wires - "Impossible Things"

Oakland's Bare Wires may now be defunct, but before the group parted ways, they had time to record one last album: Idle Dreams. Due out October 30th via Southpaw Records, the 12-track LP is billed as frontman Matthew Melton's "final masterpiece" with the project. I don't normally pay much mind to press releases, but given the steady evolution in sound and recording quality from early release Artificial Clouds to last year's Cheap Perfume 10"—a steam-rolling leather-jacketed holy grail of glam, punk, and power-pop—"masterpiece" doesn't sound so far off base. Take a peep of the record's first leak, the pulsating tornado of pure adrenaline, "Impossible Things," below. In more excellent news, Melton's new group Warm Soda will be releasing it's full-length debut on the Thee Oh Sees' own Castle Face Records, along with a cover of "I'm Waiting For The Man" for the imprint's The Velvet Underground & Nico covers album.

Pre-order Idle Dreams from Southpaw. Pre-order The VU & Nico record from Castle Face.

Bare Wires

No comments:

Post a Comment