August 18, 2011

Mixtape #17: Snacking On The 7-inch

The latest installment of our mixtape series highlights the 7" vinyl single—a format that was introduced in 1949 by RCA and is still alive and thriving today. The tracklist below features 21 different 7"s put out by some of our favorite artists and labels.*

Nick Waterhouse & The Turn-Keys - "Some Place" // PRES Records
The Limiñanas - "I'm Dead" // Hozac
Thee Oh Sees - "Coma" // Stankhouse Records
Future Islands - "Follow You (Pangea Version)" // 307 Knox Records
Dent May - "That Feeling" // Forest Family
Bleached - "You Take Time" // Art Fag
Natural Child - "Shame Walkin'" // Infinity Cat
Bare Wires - "Wanna Fight" // Castle Face
Loud Fast Fools - "Time To Split" // Turn Up Records
Sunset - "I'm Not a Perfect Person (Looks Like I Fucked Up Again)" // Autobus
Mirah - "Don't" // Mississippi Records
The Sandwitches - "Summer of Love" // 1-2-3-4 Go! Records
Craft Spells - "Love Well Spent (feat. Emily Reo)" // Captured Tracks
Blake Mills - "Winter Song" // Analog Edition
Alex Bleeker & The Freaks - "Getting By" // Group Tightener
Woods - "The Dark" // Woodsist
Levek - "Look On The Bright Side" // Father Daughter Records
The Shivers - "Shallow Water" // Natrix Natrix Records
Lonnie Walker - "Love Turn" // Friends Records
Idiot Glee - "Don't Go Out Tonight" // Small Plates
Sharon Jones & The Dap-Kings - "Make It Good To Me" // Daptone Records

Snacking on the

*Please note: These songs all sound better on vinyl. So after you get your digital fill, follow the record label links above to procure your very own wax copy of each.

Nick Waterhouse

No comments:

Post a Comment