June 16, 2009

Monsters of Folk: the Traveling Wilburys of the 00's

Back in 2004, indie folk/rock troubadours M. Ward, Conor Oberst of Bright Eyes, and Jim James of My Morning Jacket caught lightning in a bottle when they shared a stage for the aptly-dubbed "Monsters of Folk" tour. The tour led to a series of collaborations. James, with his unworldly falsetto, provided backup vocals for Ward on Transistor Radio's "Fuel For Fire" and Post-War's "Magic Trick" and on Oberst's "At The Bottom of Everything"—the pinnacle of the Bright Eyes masterpiece I'm Wide Awake, It's Morning. Ward and Oberst then sung together on the Traveling Wilbury's cover "Handle With Care" orchestrated by Jenny Lewis in 2006.

Now, after a five-year hiatus, the trio are reprising the Monsters of Folk name to release their self-titled debut album September 22nd. The band will be joined by multi-instrumentalist Mike Mogis, who has produced records in the past for Oberst, Ward, and Ward's She & Him. The Monsters of Folk aren't quite the Traveling Wilburys—who at one point were comprised of Roy Orbison, Bob Dylan, Tom Petty, George Harrison, and Jeff Lynne—but in terms of today's young class of singer/songwriters, they're pretty damn close.

Here's the track list:
1. Dear God (sincerely M.O.F.)
2. Say Please
3. Whole Lotta Losin’
4. Temazcal
5. The Right Place
6. Baby Boomer
7. Man Named Truth
8. Goodway
9. Ahead of the Curve
10. Slow Down Jo
11. Losin Yo Head
12. Magic Marker
13. Map Of The World
14. The Sandman, the Brakeman and Me
15. His Master’s Voice

Conor Oberst, Jim James & M. Ward – "Girl From The North Country" (live Bob Dylan cover)
M. Ward Ft. Jim James - "Magic Trick" (from Post-War)

M. Ward

1 comment:

  1. tim the toolman taylor6/18/09, 8:54 AM

    i'm peeing my pants in anticipation.